Monday, April 7, 2014

'Blood Moon' Lunar Eclipse in April 2014

These NASA videos explain when and where to watch the April 2014 total lunar eclipse (also known as a 'Blood Moon') that is the first of four full eclipses to make up a Tetrad.  Video Credit: NASA JPL and Science@NASA.


CAPE CANAVERAL, Florida --- There will be a full lunar eclipse on the night of April 14 and into the morning of April 15, depending on the viewer's time zone.


The lunar eclipse will begin at 12:53 a.m. EDT on April 15 (9:53 p.m. PDT on April 14) and ends at 6:38 a.m. EDT / 3:38 a.m. PDT the morning of April 15th.

The total lunar eclipse, when the moon is expected to turn into a dark-copper red Blood Moon, will start at 3:07 a.m. EDT / 12:07 a.m. PDT and end at 4:25 a.m. EDT / 1:25 a.m. PDT on April 15th


Viewing area of the April 2014 Lunar Eclipse.  Credit: NASA / JPL

The total eclipse will be viewable for most of North America and western South America.


According to NASA, this full lunar eclipse is special because it is the first of four consecutive full lunar eclipses in 2014 and 2015 that make up a Tetrad.  


For some believers in Christian prophecy, these four Blood Moons mark the beginning of the end of the World. 


Is the April 2014 Full Moon also a Pink Moon?


Full Moons in April are also known as a Pink Moon.  But the time of year that a Full Moon appears does not affect its color.  The April 2014 Full Moon will likely appear a dark-copper red to those who can view the full lunar eclipse.

 

SIMILAR ARTICLES:

"Blue Moon" 
"Strawberry Moon" 
"Pink Moon"